Make your own free website on
Home | The Four Sister Missions | Álamo | Misión San José | Misión Concepción | Misión San Juan | Misión Espada | Contact Me
The Missions of San Antonio, Bexar County, TX

While almost everyone has heard of the Álamo (misión San Antonio de Valero), it is only one of five missions within San Antonio, TX.  The Álamo was not the first mission in the area, but it is the oldest mission still standing in its original location, built in 1718.
The oldest mission in the area, founded in 1690, was San Francisco de los Tejas.  This mission was moved to an area along the San Antonio river in 1731 and renamed San Francisco de la Espada.  It is the southern most mission of the five within the city, about 15 miles south of the Álamo.
The three other missions are Señora de la Purisima Concepción, San Jose y San Miguel de Aguayo and San Juan Capistrano (This mission was originally established in East Texas as San Jose de los Nazonis: it was moved to its present location in 1731).

The following pages look at each mission.

The Alamo
(Mission San Antonio de Valero)