PRE-HISTORIC TIMES TO THE PRESENT DATE, EMBRACING A SUMMARY SKETCH
OF THE NATIVE TRIBES, AND AN EXHAUSTIVE RECORD OF MEN AND
EVENTS FOR THE PAST CENTURY; DESCRIBING IN ELABORATE
DETAIL THE CITY AS IT NOW IS; ITS COMMERCIAL,
RELIGIOUS, EDUCATIONAL AND BENEVOLENT
INSTITUTIONS, ITS GOVERNMENT, COURTS, PRESS,
AND PUBLIC AFFAIRS;
ITS MUSICAL, DRAMATIC, LITERARY, SCIENTIFIC AND SOCIAL SOCIETIES; ITS
PATRIOTISM DURING THE LATE WAR; ITS DEVELOPMENT AND
FUTURE POSSIBILITIES; AND INCLUDING
Nearly Four thousand Biographical Sketches of Pioneers and
The Western Historical Company.
T. Andreas, Poprietor.
LIME, CEMENT, STUCCO, POTASH, ETC
W. Trimborn & Sons, lime dealers, No. 673 East Water Street; business estab- lished in February, 1851, by W. Trimborn, who first commenced on a small scale, only having ten acres of land and doing his own work. Now they employ a large number of men and teams, and run six kilns during the whole year. Their kilns are located on their large farm of about 450 acres on the Janesville Plank Road in the Town of Greenfield. WERNER TRIMBORN, was born in 1802, in Geich, a village in the circuit of Aachen, Prussia He came to America with his family, locating in Milwaukee, in July, 1847. He was one of the early German settlers of the city. He died in July, 1879.
LEONARD TRIMBORN, member of the firm W. Trimborn & Sons, was born in 1834, in Geich, circuit of Aachen, Prussia; received a common school education; came to Milwaukee with his parents in 1847, and is now living at No. 673 East Water Street. He has represented the First Ward in the Common Council for five years – two years from April, 1869 to 1871, and three years from April, 1878 to 1881. He was also a member of the Board of Health for two years.
AUGUST TRIMBORN, member of the firm W. Trimborn & Sons, was born in 1831, in Geich, circuit of Aachen, Prussia; received a common school education; came to Milwaukee with his parents in 1847, and is now living on the farm of W. Trimborn & Sons, in the Town of Greenfield.
from pp 1515 & 1516
(from a section that lists information on businesses in various industries)
AUGUST TRIMBORN, section 33 P. O. Hale’s Corners; a native of Germany; was born April 18, 1830. He came to the Town of Greenfield when 16 years of age, with his parents. In 1851 he commenced to burn lime, and has been engaged in it since, in connection with his farming. There are six kilns on the farm, which have a capacity of two hundred barrels per day throughout the year. He employs forty men and eighteen teams. Mr. Trimborn was married to Miss Sebilia Lavies, in 1856. She is also a native of Germany. They have three children – Catherina, now Mrs. Salventeen, Warener and Goldenary. Family are member of St. Mary’s Catholic Church.
From page 1653
(from a section that lists biographical information on various individuals – this is copied directly as it is in the book; some of the dates are different from those in the family tree)
Courtesy of Margo Goetz
Page Created: 24 JAN 2000/7:57 PM CST
Last Edited: 24 JAN 2000/7:57 PM CST